Cruise Ship Interiors Awards 2022 have been announced!

2022-12-09T17:21:54+00:00 December 9th, 2022|Interior Design|

Ellie Jones for Cruise Ship Interiors Europe from Elite Exhibitions writes on 9th December that “Cruise Ship Interiors Europe closed the day’s energetic networking and product sourcing with the third annual Cruise Ship Interiors Awards.” The well-attended ceremony announced 12 awards, including the Leadership Award, Sustainability Award, Innovation Award and Shipyard Team of the Year.

The complete list of award winners is featured here:

Best Cabin, sponsored by Eumar Design
Explora Journeys, De Jorio Luxury and Nenmar, winning for the Ocean Suite
View Winning Entry

Best Public Space, sponsored by Agua Fabrics
Norwegian Cruise Line, Studio DADO, winning for Norwegian Prima Atrium
View Winning Entry

Best Spa or Fitness Space, sponsored by Windeck Shipfloors
Vahali, Salt & Water, winning for Vahali Spa Centre
View Winning Entry

Best Restaurant or Bar, sponsored by The Bull Agency
MSC Cruises, SMC Design, winning for Masters of the Sea British Pub and The Gin Project
View Winning Entry

Newbuild of the Year, sponsored by Sorol Hospitality
Disney Cruise Line, Walt Disney Imagineering, winning for Disney Wish
View Winning Entry

Refurbishment of the Year, sponsored by Waterbury
Hurtigruten, AROS Marine, winning for MS Fram
View Winning Entry

Supplier of the Year, sponsored by Preciosa Lighting
MJM Marine
View Company Profile

The Innovation Award
Tillberg Design of Sweden, winning for Funnel Design of Norwegian Prima Cruise Ship
View Winning Entry

The Sustainability Award, sponsored by Ultrafabrics
Dansk Wilton, winning for Colortek & Origins Carpet
View Winning Entry

Cruise Line Team of the Year, sponsored by TeamHoff
MSC Cruises

Shipyard Team of the Year, sponsored by SD Marine Interiors
Meyer Werft

The Leadership Award, sponsored by AROS Marine
Fredrik Johansson

The Awards opened with the Trimline Drinks. As everyone across the cruise ship interiors supply chain gathered to celebrate the outstanding work of the industry, tables were occupied by Bolidt, Carnival Cruise Line, Disney Cruise Line, HBA, SMC Design and Ulster Carpets.

CEO of the Cruise Ship Interiors Awards and Cruise Ship Interiors Expo Europe, Toby Walters, stepped up to be master of ceremonies. Several special announcements were made as the champagne flowed. The first awarded best stand to turnkey interiors solutions provider Regenasa and most sustainable stand to SMC Design, having created a stunning stand using 100% recycled materials. One lucky visitor was also randomly selected to win the chance for an exclusive holiday for two with Virgin Voyages: Daniel Mocreia, Senior Architect, MSC Cruises

This year, 12 awards were up for grabs at the Cruise Ship Interiors Awards. The awards themselves were created Spared by Volume Creative. The material of the awards is created using waste, truly transforming unwanted items into a unique and beautiful material. Fredrik Johansson won the prestigious Leadership Award, sponsored by AROS Marine, in recognition of all he has done in support of supporting his fellow designers and shaping many of them into fellow leaders and creative visionaries of the industry. Cruise Line of the Year went to MSC Cruises, who not only led all other cruise lines in number of newbuilds, but welcomed truly innovative ships to their fleet including MSC World Europa.

Studio DADO won Best Public Space for Norwegian Prima’s Atrium, while the Sustainability Award goes to Dansk Wilton. Dansk Wilton have consistently raised the standards of sustainable design in the cruise ship interiors community. Earlier in the day, speaking at a workshop at CSIE, Lone Ditmer, Marketing Manager, Dansk Wilton commented,

‘Some people have asked us why we are sharing this information and making it available instead of keeping it to ourselves. We actually hope that everybody will use this information. We are only one business but this needs an industry wide change.’

This same community spirit was felt strongly at the Cruise Ship Interiors Awards. Peers, current and future clients and fellow finalists alike cheered for the winners as they took to the stage to accept their stand.